A Week In…Classcraft

Well, it has been a week since we started Classcraft. I have learned so much, so fast, about giving and taking away points and just navigating the dashboard. The kids seem to LOVE it, even though we had quite a few fall in battle this week due to a Random Event. I made some adjustments to the point system and am set to add in content grades that are associated with points. It is a lot, but it might just be a great thing to have happen for this last quarter of the year to keep enthusiasm and interest high (theirs and mine).

Many parents have gotten on board. From the parent account, students can be awarded GP or Gold Points for finishing their homework or cleaning up around the house. GP are used to buy gear like boots and shields.

Quite a few students have jumped into the Powers and Messaging aspects of the game. I now have another site to respond to besides my email accounts and Edmodo.

We haven’t explored Quests or Battles just yet, nor have we used the Wheel of Destiny. The game is extensive. I like the customizable aspects of it. I like that I can personalize the Sentences and adjust the point system.

One of my homeroom students asked if I could expand it to include times that aren’t science and I’m thinking that I will add my homeroom as a class but maybe not until after the standardized testing week after next.

So far I would have to say that launching Classcraft has been worth all of the time and effort I have put into it.

There is a Freemium version that covers behavior. The Premium version allows me to add content to the game.

If you are looking for something to spark your students and perhaps modify their behavior, then I recommend looking into Classcraft.

Leave a comment